THE 53RD NAACP IMAGE AWARDS NON-TELEVISED VIRTUAL:  Jazmine Sullivan, Silk Sonic, Anthony Hamilton Among Musical Winners

Tonight, the NAACP announced the next round of winners during the fourth night of the 53rd NAACP Image Awards non-televised award categories, which featured categories across film and television, as well as the illustrious Humanitarian Award, which was presented to Darnella Frazier. The winners were revealed tonight during the NAACP Image Awards’ Virtual Experience presented by Wells Fargo and hosted by Affion Crockett at and YouTube.

Tonight’s winners included Jazmine Sullivan for Outstanding Female Artist, Silk Sonic for Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional), “The Harder They Fall” (The Motion Picture Soundtrack) for Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album, Anthony Hamilton for Outstanding Male Artist, Saweetie for Outstanding New Artist, “Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems for Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album.

Darnella Frazier, was honored with the Humanitarian’s Award which was presented by NAACP Vice-Chair Karen Boykin-Towns, to celebrate her courage, and her sense of history, by recording the face of racist depravity that we still must expose.

The night additionally featured appearances from presenters including Lori HarveyMatt Cedeno, and Melissa L. Williams

The week-long 53rd NAACP Image Awards Virtual Experience from February 21-25, will invite fans to join the Image Awards in a celebration of the outstanding achievements and performances of people of color across more than 80 competitive categories. 

The “53rd NAACP Image Awards,” hosted by seven-time NAACP Image Awards winner Anthony Anderson, will air Saturday, February 26 at 8:00 PM on BET, featuring a performance by nine-time Grammy Award-winning singer and two-time Academy Award-nominated actress and producer Mary J. Blige.

The full list of winners from tonight can be found below:

Outstanding Jazz Album – Instrumental

“Sounds from the Ancestors” – Kenny Garrett

Outstanding Jazz Album – Vocal

“Generations”- The Baylor Project

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Song

“Help Me”- Tamala Mann feat. The Fellas

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album

“Overcomer”- Tamela Mann

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional)

Silk Sonic- “Leave the Door Open”

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Contemporary)

Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe- “Fye Fye”

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album

“The Harder They Fall (The Motion Picture Soundtrack)” – JAY-Z & Jeymes Samuel

Outstanding International Song

“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems & Justin Bieber

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album

“Essence”- Wizkid featuring Tems

Outstanding New Artist

Saweetie – “Best Friend” Ft. Doja Cat

Outstanding Male Artist

Anthony Hamilton – “Love Is The New Black”

Outstanding Female Artist

Jazmine Sullivan- “Heaux Tales”

Outstanding Soul/R&B Song

“Pick Up Your Feelings”- Jazmine Sullivan

Outstanding Hip-Hop/Rap Song

“Fye Fye” – Tobe Nwigwe Feat. Fat Nwigwe

Outstanding Album

“Heaux Tales”- Jazmine Sullivan

Special Award: NAACP Humanitarian of the Year

Darnella Frazier

Scroll to Top