TV One to Air the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards on Easter Sunday

SILVER SPRING, MD (April 14, 2014) —  In a press release, TV One announced today that the 22nd Annual Trumpet Awards will air on Sunday, April 20, at 8pm ET.  For over two decades, the highly anticipated awards ceremony has highlighted the accomplishments of men and women who have significantly contributed to enhancing the quality of life in fields such as law, religion, politics, public service, sports and entertainment.

Co-hosted by Laz Alonso and Melissa De Sousa, the Trumpet Awards serve to inspire, educate, stimulate and enlighten. The broadcast will include performances by Amber Riley, Melle Mel, Kurtis Blow, Kid N’ Play, Chubb Rock, Stephanie Mills, Candice Glover, Carl Thomas, Jaheim, Joe, SWV, Lyfe Jennings, Billy Paul, Raheem DeVaughn, Donnie McClurkin, Smokie Norful and the Trumpet Awards Orchestra under the direction of James “Big Jim” Wright.

An embeddable link to The Trumpet Awards promo may be viewed here:

This year’s Trumpet Awards honorees include:

  • Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff – Award-Winning Producers / Song Writers
  • DeVon Franklin – Senior Vice President, Columbia Tristar Pictures
  • Alfre Woodard – Academy Award nominated actress
  • The honorable Kamala Harris – Attorney General of California
  • Charles J. Ogletree, Jr. – Harvard Law Professor
  • The McKissack Sisters– Co-Presidents, McKissack & McKissack
  • Steve Pemberton – Vice President & Chief Diversity Officer, Walgreens
  • Bronner Brothers Family – Entrepreneurs
  • William Sisters – Entrepreneurs

The Trumpet Awards are produced by Central City Productions; Don Jackson is the executive producer. Executive in charge of production for TV One is Craig Henry.

Scroll to Top