The San Diego Prestige Awards: San Diego's Celebration of Gospel


Eddie Baltrip (L) Mother Gloria Lynch (C) Cedric Baltrip
Eddie Baltrip (L) Cedric Baltrip/Photo credit:  Corey Butler

When it comes to talent, San Diego’s gospel music community tops the list.

On Saturday, May 17 among the who’s who in music and the arts came out full force and in style, to celebrate America’s finest city’s diversely gifted and talented gospel artist.

The prestigious red carpet event was held at Bayview Baptist Church. Among those in attendance included a long list of artists in local music direction, liturgical dance, promoters and pastors.

Established in 2012, the award show has been branded as San Diego County’s “Grammy Awards.”  In its second year, the event is held in recognition for artists and, musicians representing traditional and non traditional gospel music who have maintained a level of notoriety in their community, their genre of music and their profession. 

The shows founder San Diego resident Eddie Baltrip, serves as producer alongside his brother Cedric both who are singers in the mass choir, Voices of Fulfillment. The spirit filled event was created for the county of San Diego to appreciate and celebrate those who have made contributions to performing arts.

Winners of the 2014 San Diego Prestige Awards include: 

Church Choir of the Year (South County) Grace Covenant

Church Choir of the Year (North County) New Vision International

Liturgical Dance Solo Act of Year, Tequilla Miller

Liturgical Dance Group of the Year, Junk Yard Dancers

Event of the Year, Blood Concert

Instrumentalist of the Year, Corey Parrish

Choir Director of the Year, Brittaney McCalester

Pastor of the Year (South County) Bishop Willie Brooks

Pastor of the Year (North County) Pastor John Wells

Best CD of the Year,  Tinika Wyatt (Believe)

Most Influential Person in the Community, Pastor William Benson

Minister of Music of the Year, David Dredden

Praise and Worship Leader of the Year, Brittany Cooper

Artist of the Year, Donte McFarland

Female Vocalist of the Year, Sheila Mosley

Male Vocalist of the Year, Adisa Browning

Music Director of the Year, Chris “Blakk” Daniels

Promoter of the Year, Robert Earl Dean

Quartet of the Year,  Men 4 Christ

Producer of the Year, Noah Williams

Group/Duo of the Year, Adisa & Bre Browning

Gospel Hip Hop Rap Artist of the Year, Donte McFarland

Master of Ceremony of the Year, Mother Gloria Lynch

Check out a few red carpet highlights below:

For more photo’s of the event visit our facebook page.

Tinika Wyatt (Winner: Best CD of the year)
Tinika Wyatt (Winner: Best CD of the year)




David  and Kristen Dredden ( Winner:  Minister of Music of the Year)
David and Kristen Dredden ( Winner: Minister of Music of the Year.)
Bishop Willie Brooks and family. (Winner: Most influential person in the community.)
Mr. Chris Swann and Mrs. Elaine Swann, Mrs. Swann was one of the Emcee's for the event.
Mr. Chris Swann and Mrs. Elaine Swann. Mrs. Swann served  one of the Emcee’s for the event.
Brittany Cooper, being interviewed by correspondent Chris White
Brittany Cooper (Winner: of Praise and worship leader of the year.) Interview with red carpet correspondent Chris White
Winner: (Quartet of the Year,  Men 4 Christ, Oscar Johnson and James Thompson) Photo credit:  Rochelle Porter
(L) Oscar Johnson and (R) James Thompson (Winner: Quartet of the Year, Men 4 Christ) Photo credit: Rochelle Porter.


1 thought on “The San Diego Prestige Awards: San Diego's Celebration of Gospel”

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top